See more about this pub on WhatPub, CAMRA's national pub guide.
A gem from a bygone age and with a nationally important historic pub interior, it was built in the mid-17th century as a farmhouse, became an inn in 1827, and has changed little since (apart from proper loos). It was named after a local farm worker, Edward Tucker, who hanged himself in a nearby barn in 1747, and was buried at the crossroads outside. He featured in a song by 1970's punk band The Stranglers, great fans off the pub. There is no bar in the original inn and the beer and several ciders are served from an alcove. Shove-ha'penny is played and there is a skittle alley. Camping is available in the extensive grounds. A large modern barn is used for regular music events and is available for private functions. The derelict old milking parlor at the rear was sensitively refurbished in 2021 to provide a quite large bar/cafe and additional seating area.